Coronavirus: UK puts Belgium, Andorra and Bahamas on quarantine list

Belgium, the Bahamas and Andorra have been added to the UK’s coronavirus quarantine list, after a spike in cases in the affected countries.

Tweeting on Thursday, Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said people arriving in the UK from those countries after 4am on Saturday would need to isolate for 14 days.

He said: “Data shows we need to remove Andorra, Belgium and the Bahamas from our list of #coronavirus Travel Corridors in order to keep infection rates DOWN.”

Wales earlier made a similar move, but the Welsh government also announced it would make travellers from Brunei and Malaysia exempt from quarantine measures at its border after cases in the two nations decreased.

The move comes after a meeting of all four UK countries to consider the public health risk from increasing COVID-19 cases in the affected areas.

The changes in Wales will come into force from midnight on Friday.

Scotland and Northern Ireland have not yet said if they will bring in similar measures against travellers coming in from those countries.

Serbia was removed from Wales’ exemption list on 11 July, and Spain and its islands were also taken off on 26 July after a rise in coronavirus cases.

Belgium has suffered a consistent increase in cases in recent weeks, rising to 27.8 new cases per 100,000 people, new figures show.

This is much higher than the UK’s current 8.4, and is also above the 27.4 number that Spain had at the time the UK reimposed the quarantine rules on arrivals from there.

Last week, Belgium’s prime minister Sophie Wilmes introduced drastic new social distancing measures in the hope of avoiding a new national lockdown.

She announced a plan to limit contacts outside every household to the same five people for a month to limit the spread of the virus.

Source: Read Full Article